Learning to be Thankful in All Circumstances

”From Mount Hor they set out by the way to the Red Sea, to go around the land of Edom. And the people became impatient on the way. And the people spoke against God and against Moses, “Why have you brought us up out of Egypt to die in the wilderness? For there is no food and no water, and we loathe this worthless food.”“ Numbers‬ ‭21‬:‭4‬-‭5‬ ‭ESV‬‬

  • “And the people became impatient along the way”. This really stood out for me today. They were heading towards the Red Sea, to go around the land of Edom, why? In Numbers 20:14-21, Moses had asked permission of the Edomites if they would allow them to pass through their land, on the way to the “promised land”, but they refused and came out to fight against the Israelites, so instead, Moses had the Israelites turn back and go around the land of the Edomites. So they became impatient and, of course, started complaining! They didn’t like this journey, they didn’t like the change in plans, and they definitely didn’t like the food! They started complaining that Moses led them out of Egypt to die in the desert. How quickly they forgot, that prior to this change in direction, the Lord had given them victory over the Canaanite’s! (See Numbers 21:1-3). 
  • But before I become too critical of the Israelites, don’t I do the same thing? I easily forget what or how God has worked in my life. I forget His faithfulness. I start complaining the minute things don’t go as “I” planned, or as “I” hoped. I don’t like this detour Lord! I don’t want to go through “this” again! Haven’t I had enough to deal with already? And on and on it goes, I allow myself to fall into self-pity and the negative thinking takes over. I feel like Paul in Romans 7:15, ”For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate.“And the battle between the “flesh and the “spirit” begins! Who can deliver me? Only Jesus! His power at work within me can help me overcome! (See Ephesians 3:20; 1John 4:4). 
  • And then of course there is this reminder ‭‭found in Ecclesiastes 7:14, “In the day of prosperity be joyful, and in the day of adversity consider: God has made the one as well as the other, so that man may not find out anything that will be after him.“ Oh to learn how to be thankful in all circumstances! (1 Thessalonians 5:18). 

‭‭

Leave a comment

I’m mary

I'm a retired Nurse. I love traveling with my husband and sharing our journeys with my friends. I am a beloved child of God and love sharing the inspirations He gives me with my friends, who are behind me creating a blog! I hope others may be encouraged as well.

Welcome to my blog. I am a retired Nurse. I love traveling with my husband and sharing our journeys with my friends. I am a beloved child of God and love sharing the inspirations He gives me with my friends, who are the ones behind me creating a blog! I hope others will be encouraged

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started